The Invisible Life of Addie Larue (Large Print / Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
The Invisible Life of Addie Larue Cover Image
$34.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


A young woman pleads with a dark god to save her from a forced marriage and the small, hard life of a French villager in the early 1700s. Her wish is, cruelly, granted. She gets a vast but lonely eternal life of being continually forgotten, not just day after day, but moment after moment — and there's not a moment of it that she can forget. As she struggles to find meaning, identity, and purpose in that existence, the dark god returns, time and again, reminding her that she can end the struggle by surrendering her soul. And so it goes for 300 years. Until a young man working in a Brooklyn bookstore inexplicably, impossibly remembers her. This is a sweeping, lyrical, historical, literary fantasy (perfect for fans of Alix E. Harrow, Madeline Miller, Erin Morgenstern). It's somehow deeply fulfilling yet completely unsettling. And I can't get that ending and all of its implications out of my head. That's pretty good for an invisible, forgettable girl.

— Dawn

October 2020 Indie Next List


“Epic, beautifully written, heartwarming, and heartbreaking, The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is a contemplation on life, death, what it means to make your mark on the world, and why we feel it’s important to do so. Addie makes a deal with a demon so she can live her life the way she wants to. But, like most deals, there are strings attached — and these strings make it so she is forgotten by everyone she meets. Dancing about time, the book shows Addie’s life over 300 years and takes a closer look at her modern life — after a boy in a bookshop remembers her. Months later, I’m still thinking about this book and how beautiful it is; my words don’t even come close to doing it justice. Read this book.”
— Lindsey Pattavina, R.J. Julia Booksellers, Madison, CT

Description


In the vein of The Time Traveler's Wife and Life After Life, The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is New York Times bestselling author V. E. Schwab's genre-defying tour de force.

A Life No One Will Remember. A Story You Will Never Forget.

France, 1714: in a moment of desperation, a young woman makes a Faustian bargain to live forever--and is cursed to be forgotten by everyone she meets.

Thus begins the extraordinary life of Addie LaRue, and a dazzling adventure that will play out across centuries and continents, across history and art, as a young woman learns how far she will go to leave her mark on the world.

But everything changes when, after nearly 300 years, Addie stumbles across a young man in a hidden bookstore and he remembers her name.

About the Author


VICTORIA "V. E." SCHWAB is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of more than a dozen books, including the acclaimed Shades of Magic series, the Villains series, This Savage Song, and Our Dark Duet. Her work has received critical acclaim, been featured in the New York Times, Entertainment Weekly, Washington Post and more, been translated into more than a dozen languages, and has been optioned for television and film. When she's not haunting Paris streets or trudging up English hillsides, she lives in Edinburgh, Scotland and is usually tucked in the corner of a coffee shop, dreaming up monsters.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781432883515
ISBN-10: 1432883518
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Publication Date: October 28th, 2020
Language: English